Last Day

Today marked my last day at my Old Job. For anyone who doesn’t know, I worked for a corporation with hundreds of thousands of employees in global offices. The name rhymes with “United States Latrine S’more.” Over a decade ago, I barely completed a ten-week in-person interview process on the first attempt, an accomplishment of which I am quite proud. My coworkers and I marked the occasion by singing, nay, screaming our new employer’s song at absolute top volume. Next followed six months of introductory training, three months of specialized education for my specific job, and then out into the fray. They sent me on arduous adventures, but also wonderful work trips. You wouldn’t believe some of the sunrises I’ve gotten to witness. I met some of my favorite people, including The Hubs—who still works for them. Through this career, I developed an unrelenting belief in my capability to outlast my shittiest days and maybe even come back stronger because of them. Without the skills they taught me and the experiences they enabled, I never would have earned the Payne Fellowship. They also broke my heart a few times. Those shitty days came from somewhere. So thanks, Latrine S’more. I am not going to miss you. 

Because I’m still going to be around you all the time. Because of The Hubs.

See you at the birthday!

Customarily, those leaving the Latrine S’more grow a beard. Don’t mess with tradition.

About Maggie

Self-deprecating drifter. High functioning ball of chaos. Bit of a hobbit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment