You Again?

Hello, new and previous readers (Hi Grams!). Why am I resurrecting this whimsical and often irreverent blog now, as a thirty-five-year-old mom with ten years in a somewhat serious profession? Well, that profession ended on a wee bit of a sour note and in a fit of spite fueled productivity I applied for a fellowship to help pay for grad school. As it turns out, while slightly delusional during post-partum exhaustion, I can compile a competitive package but not read the fine print (it was normal sized).  Minor details concerning the program escaped my imperfect scrutiny. For example, the fellowship includes a ten-week internship in DC for the first year, then a ten-week internship in another country for the second year, and expects five years working for a federal agency, most likely overseas, after that. Incredibly exciting…for a twenty something without such trifling commitments as children and a husband with a slightly inflexible job. Just a touch more complex for me, The Hubs, and our family. 

The Hubs and I had some hard discussions, and eventually he told me “you don’t turn in a hand like this.” So I accepted. As we have many times in the past, we will figure it out as we go.  I expect the next few years to contain more than a few nut rolls, but hopefully a couple of joyful moments interspersed here and there. Since I made one reckless decision with the mindset of a footloose and fancy free single idiot, why not accompany it with another and reboot the old blog? I hear 2010 nostalgia is so in right now. What’s nice about blogs is that I can fulfill the urge to yell into the void about my existence, but they are  also super easy to ignore if you aren’t interested in my life. 

Just a note, while I acknowledge the irony of writing about my life publicly, I ask that those of you who know me for real life please respect the privacy of my family. Please do not post the names of my family in the comments. Thank you. 

About Maggie

Self-deprecating drifter. High functioning ball of chaos. Bit of a hobbit.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment